Security Analyst Job Advice for passionate security noobs

pngb4pngb4 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
One day a recruiter calls me and asks if am in the job market and interested in a security position (security analyst for a cyber company). Requirements was an entry level tech with little to no experience but who has a passion for security. I couldn't believe this at first and I felt like I hit the lottery because situations like this don't happen for ppl with little to no experience. This company was supposed to train you from the ground up. I have 3 years of support experience and just a BS in CIS and getting into security has been my dream.

So fast forward I get the job interview which went really well. I was told that I made it to the next round which was awesome!!! Then I received an email with instructions on taking a personality assessment. I took it without concern but little did I know it would ruin my chances of getting a shot at the job. The next day I received an email stating that the company was no longer interested in me because my assessment results showed that I wouldn't be the best fit (culture wise) for the company. I was so bummed out that I literally felt like crying icon_cry.gif. This had to be my worst day so far this year. I feel like I was robbed in the opportunity to show what kind of person I really am and that I felt like I found home to grow and be successful.

Now, I know sobbing isn't going to get me anywhere. I'm here genuinely asking an honest question and hope other people learn and take honest good advice for someone trying to get into a security position. What recommendations do you have as far as certifications, labs, skills, and programs/learning centers? I have tons of video content on security and a network lab. I'm open to any kind of advice.

Thanks,

Peter

Comments

• McxRisleyMcxRisley Member Posts: 494 ■■■■■□□□□□