Options

Would studying and passing MCSA give me a better change to become Helpdesk analyst?

2»

Comments

• Options
    ande0255ande0255 Banned Posts: 1,178
    advanex1 wrote: »
    What the heck is a Help Desk analyst? New title? Genuinely curious.

When I was a trainer, there was a Heirarchy as such:

Help Desk Analyst I = Answer inbound calls as quickly and efficiently as possible (phone metrics monitored closely)

Help Desk Analyst II = Answer inbound calls, train new hires, access to update the 'Knowledge Base' that other Help Desk analysts had to follow to the T on their tickets when closing or escalating them

Help Desk Analyst III = Answer inbound calls during heavy outages, work on training / onboarding materials for new hires

I made it to Helpdesk Analyst II and actually refused an offer to go to III, I often referred to my job as Hell Desk Analyst.

I deal with the same amount of chaos at my current job, but it's actually network infrastructure related, not password resets and pissed off insurance sales people who don't understand how to plug monitors into PC's properly.

And @ OP, I am glad to help, keep adding those connections and getting leads for jobs! Listening to good advice is great, but following it is a great step toward climbing that IT ladder!
  • Options
    faintingheartfaintingheart Member Posts: 256
    Hey I was wondering how can I earn more skills for my resume?

For example how can I earn these and proudly put it on my resume?

microsoft office
    Trouble shooting
    Customer service
    Technical support
    networking
    windows
    computer Hardware
    Active Directory
    Management
    windows server
    DHCP
    DNS
  • Options
    You must lab, lab, and lab. That is the only way I absorb material because over the years I've traded hand-eye coordination, however when I lab over and over the commands become second nature.

I'd recommend getting a trial version of VMWARE workstation 10, and build servers off of that.