Options

Cloud Certification Strategy

mzx380mzx380 Member Posts: 453 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey, everyone, I'd love some input on certification strategy for my situation. I'm an IT Project Manager that put my PMP and Agile studies on hold to complete my MBA at WGU. Once all these degrees/certs are finished, I hope to further my cloud education. I plan on continuing with project management with the hope of landing more senior roles one day. What's the next best certification to learn about cloud and be able to deliver cloud infrastructure projects?

1) My company uses Azure so an education could prove useful
2) I'm not sure if this is the company that I will be in the long term and I know that AWS is big in cloud space, so I'm thinking about that.
3) I've been reading about CCSP and want to complete an ISC2 cert to validate my security knowledge and was not sure if this was the right path to take instead of preparing for CISSP in a few years.

What would you guys think is best?
Certifications: ITIL, ACA, CCNA, Linux+, VCP-DCV, PMP, PMI-ACP, CSM
Currently Working On: Microsoft 70-761 (SQL Server)

Comments

• Options
    JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    I'd definitely pick back up on PMP but especially Agile, then do CCSK>CCSP for cloud security knowledge. Then pick a stack (AWS, Azure, etc) and go down that path. Eventually I'd do both, but focus on one first. I'd almost recommend AWS first just because it's the top dog right now, there's a run on AWS certified folks, and I honestly think it's easier stuff to learn than Azure. Then I'd deep dive into Azure.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • Options
    UncleBUncleB Member Posts: 417