Help me with CISSP experience requirements

mjt29mjt29 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

So I am about the start studying for this exam but I have some worries with my experience and wish the run it by everyone here.

So I have 11 years experience in the IT field and a BS in Information Technology.

Eight years of this experience was in the role of Network Security-Network administrator and Assistant Network administrator. The rest of the experience is help desk and desktop support.

The issue is I left the field for 6 years and came back two years ago and did help desk for a very large US financial institution. I've decided to completely focus on security now, but the experience I have that mostly qualifies me is older.

As I'm fighting for my life to re-establish myself in the field I feel the CISSP will do that for me.

What does everyone this feel my odds of meeting the experience requirements would be for this exam would if I need ISC do sponsor? I don't personally know any CISSP's.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• fitzlopezfitzlopez Member Posts: 103 ■■■□□□□□□□
    mjt29 wrote: »
    Hello everyone,

So I am about the start studying for this exam but I have some worries with my experience and wish the run it by everyone here.

So I have 11 years experience in the IT field and a BS in Information Technology.

Eight years of this experience was in the role of Network Security-Network administrator and Assistant Network administrator. The rest of the experience is help desk and desktop support.

The issue is I left the field for 6 years and came back two years ago and did help desk for a very large US financial institution. I've decided to completely focus on security now, but the experience I have that mostly qualifies me is older.

As I'm fighting for my life to re-establish myself in the field I feel the CISSP will do that for me.