Options

IT Admin questions

monorionmonorion Member Posts: 90 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I have a few questions and hoping someone can help guide me. Recently I have taken a position as an IT Admin for a mid-size company, I am the only on-site IT person (prior to me some people around the office would do the IT stuff, they're fairly tech savy people). So my role is to take care of all desktop/helpdesk roles but, i'm hoping down the road my access gets opened up a little more and i get more decision making.

I am trying to prepare myself for any infrastructure related changes if they do give me these tasks which I'm sure they will. what can i do to get ready for this i.e. New file servers, virtualization, SANs, network equipment, etc. if there is a need for this equipment, what will help me with the decision making and where do i ever start for what's good for our environment? (all hypothetical)

I have never done and admin work before my 4-5 years in IT has all been desktop/helpdesk roles. I do have my CCENT and hoping i can get my CCNA soon. Once I do complete that should i start digging into MCSA: Server?

I am super excited to learn infrastructure work but, at the same time nervous as I don't have any direct guidance.

Thank you all I really appreciate it!

Comments

• Options
    Fulcrum45Fulcrum45 Member Posts: 621 ■■■■■□□□□□