Options

Help with KVM switch setup

G.O.A.TG.O.A.T Member Posts: 138
Hi guys

Hoping for a point in the right direction, firstly excuse my ignorance as in all honesty Im still quite new to IT and only learned of a KVM switch through studying for the A+.

Now the situation is that I have a macbook pro and a Windows 10 desktop machine, I want it so I can switch between my W10 and pro quickly. My W10 is just a refurb I bought to practice on and learn more whilst studying for my A+. I am thinking of getting a KVM switch with support only for VGA connection as its all I can really afford, this wouldnt be an issue for my W10 client however my pro only has mini display port which I do connect to my HDMI tv as I bought the Mini display to hdmi connector cable. If I happen to find mini display to VGA connectors and plug it into the KVM would this setup work? Also is speed if switching delendant on the actual KVM switch you purchase?

Feel free to throw in any added info you think I should be aware of.

Thanks for reading!

Comments

• Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you buy a decent KVM, using a VGA to Mini-DP shouldn't be a problem. I have an iogear KVM, two port, that works great. It isn't the fastest but that is to be expected with KVMs.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • Options
    TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Still searching for the corner in a round room.
  • Options
    Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Why not get HDMI auto switch? You get audio and picture quality is much better than VGA.
  • Options
    PocketLumberjackPocketLumberjack Member Posts: 162 ■■■□□□□□□□