Options

Change in WGU BSIT - SEC path

wastedtimewastedtime Member Posts: 586 ■■■■□□□□□□
So I received noticed today they changed the BSIT - Sec path. Most of the changes were small but the one that stuck out to me was changing the second scripting class to spreadsheets. I don't see how that is an improvement. I was told it was due to course feed back and people having difficulty with scripting. I realize people will use it to varying degrees but I don't see how people will do a technical path security or administration/engineering without a good understanding of the basics. My background is about 5 years of sys/network admin work, 2 years Threat Hunting, 1 year Network Defense, 1 year software development analyst, 2 years malware/Sr IR analyst. I have created or contributed to Java/C/Javascript/Python/PowerShell/PIG/awk/bash programs and scripts in relation to my work so I may be a biased.

Sorry if this seem like complaining. This is part vent and part question to community. Do you feel they should have kept it in or took it out? Why?

Comments

• Options
    PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
    For now, it is a good thing. It's not that people have a hard time scripting. It's that the class was put together poorly, IMO.

The class is very valuable. It's not impossible, just very confusing if you try to use the Udacity material they relied upon.
  • Options
    adrenaline19adrenaline19 Member Posts: 251
    Sounds like you didn't need the second class anyways and you are upset because you can't get an easy pass.
  • Options
    Phileeeeeeep651Phileeeeeeep651 Member Posts: 179 ■■■□□□□□□□