Options

Just got a new job- will this count as work experience?

InsomniaaInsomniaa Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys! I know I don't post much on the forums here but I've been a member for a couple years now and check out some threads quite often on TE.

Little bit of background about me: I've been studying for the CCNA off and on for a couple years now but have just recently cracked down and have been studying more diligently the last couple months; preparing for the ICND1 exam in the next couple months.

I'm young- 22 years old and have been working at call centers my whole life which is obviously Customer Service. I currently work at Facebook as a Customer Service Rep and work with customers that advertise on Facebook which is more on the marketing side of things and is far from IT. I just recently got a new job and start next month, working from home doing Tech Support strictly for iOS devices taking an extreme pay cut and temporarily moving back with my parents while my girlfriend and I find a cheap place to live, hoping this would be the experience I need to put on my resume after I (hopefully) get my CCNA later this year.

I know most people start at a help desk of some sort, and I know this isn't a help desk position but I sort of believed that since the position is literally called "Tech Support", that this would count as IT experience to be used for an actual networking position of some sort even though I would be working with Apple devices. I do not care what kind of job I could get as long as it is networking related and pays a bit more.

The more I think about it, the more I'm starting to wonder if this Tech Support position isn't what I need to hopefully get some sort of actual networking job after getting my CCNA and that I will spend all this time studying and working a job that I know I'll hate, only to find out that I won't have any luck finding a networking job and will be forced to start all over at a help desk.