Possible to pass CISSP without "hardcore" experience?

VictorVictor5VictorVictor5 Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
Greetings all,

I am in the middle of studying for my attempt at CISSP icon_study.gif. Some of you know I come from a different background than "hardcore" (straight) Infosec, but I have some experience with it as well as other certifications.

For those with less time with IT/Infosec, do you think this exam is doable for someone a outside of the field, albeit technical in nature? I ask since I believe CISSP is coming at you from a managerial perspective, and I've read on the forum here (IIRC) that some that have a completely different background, like business/MBA, that have passed this exam.

And I am aware of the Associate of ISC2 designation - I'm only asking about the CISSP exam.

Thanks all!
VV5
B.S. Electrical Engineering, M.S. Electrical and Computer Engineering, PhD Electrical and Computer Engineering
J.D. Candidate (2L)
In the books: CompTIA Network+, Security+, CEH, Associate of (ISC)^2, GIAC: GSEC, GAWN, GCIH, GPEN, GCFA
ProBoard: FF I & II; HAZMAT: Awareness, Operations, and Technician; Fire Instructor I; NREMT: EMT-B. Next up: Fire Officer I
Currently Working on: PE-Electrical and Electronics, Patent and State Bars, and Juris Doctor (law degree)
Next: GCIA/GCWN and/or GCUX/PMP/GSE
Next after next: Med school!!!!! Lol

Comments

• ITSec14ITSec14 Member Posts: 398 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm in the same situation as you. I have 3 1/2 years of diverse IT experience with 11 months in a direct security role and I'm going for my CISSP (decided against doing the SSCP first).

I believe it's definitely possible with a lot of hard work and dedication to studying! The exam is not all technical either.

Best of luck!
  • dhay13dhay13 Member Posts: 580 ■■■■□□□□□□