CISSP Maybe or Maybe not?

c130jackc130jack Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everybody,

I am new to Techexams.net and I have scurried the internet where I have found this site to be the most useful from what I can tell. I am retired and currently living in Southeast Asia. I really do not have any hobbies except traveling the world and eating some of the best food the world has to offer, so I thought I would take up learning some certifications to enhance my IT knowledge and keep up to breast with IT standards, tech, and policies because IT was always a passion of mine and still is. Anyways, I tried to take the CISSP exam in 2013 and barely missed passing the exam as I got 697 points. I was very discouraged after spending 3 months studying about 45 hours a week for 3 months. It was actually one of the reasons why I decided to quit my job and retire along with my mental health and physical health not being able to complete some of the easiest tasks my job required. My question to all you members is, should I pursue the CISSP exam or other certifications or should I just sit back and enjoy the retired lifestyle even though I am going to enjoy it anyways?

Comments

• ITCertPrepITCertPrep Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    It's caused you lots of stress before, and it sounds like you don't need that now. What would your purpose be in pursuing the CISSP?
  • TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I don't think its worth it. You are retired, you can still take a book and read and study but for someone that has retired I don't see any benefit in being certified. Honesty when I retire, I'll just work out and play sports.
  • c130jackc130jack Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□