Options

Planning to Test this Saturday

djrojas7djrojas7 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I studied for and took my Security+ exam (passed) at the beginning of June; the week immediately following I took a 5 day course with an online vendor for CEH (which I felt was a little rushed).

My plan is to take the exam this weekend (I got a voucher through the online vendor), but haven't yet "booked" the exam.

I have taken two of the Optimized Transcender exams of 125 questions each and got scores of 79% and 78% respectively.

I have a few more nights to study and focus on memorizing nmap switches, subnetting with CIDR and other tools of the trade.

Just curious to hear from those who have taken the exam recently; I'm trying to decide if I should go ahead and schedule for this Saturday, or push it out another week or so.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    higherhohigherho Member Posts: 882
    I felt that the exam wasn't hard at all. Although I do not know your technical background. I can say the exam is more technical than the security + that's for sure. If you get 80 +% on your chapter studies and 80%+ above on your practice exam tests then you seem to have a good understanding of the material and should be well prepared (70% is required to pass).

Know your tools and what they are used for and specific purposes, know NMAP switches and their output, know how encryption and PKI works, your CIA and Security triangles, some laws and what they do (HIPPA for example), etc. The test pool isn't large like the CISSP but you should be able to logically work through questions if you do not know them. If you are new to IT or don't have a system / network background at all then I would recommend to study a bit longer.
  • Options
    higherho wrote: »