Options

Passed CISSP on May 2 2017, second attempt

pillaiarunsasidharanpillaiarunsasidharan Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have finally passed the marathon effort exam on May 2nd 2017. Special thanks to my ex-boss Dhana for motivating me on pursuing CISSP track and Family ( Jyothsana, Mokshita, Raveendranath, Sreelatha) for offering extended support and confidence. I started serious study after my baby was born and she has been very cooperative somehow while I planned my CISSP effort.

Initially while was planning for CISSP exams in 2013, I was very cocky about me passing cissp like other technical certification exams, which I study for less than a month. My first combat with exam gave me taste of it as the score quite intimidating (690). During my first attempt, I studied only from the CBK and never took any practice exams. I just read the book 5 times page to page and made notes to remember important areas which was not enough. So while planning for the second attempt, decided to do some research on how others prepared and decided to work out a strategy.

Here are some insights on what was my CISSP strategy. Each and every one has 1.5 KG of brain however each individual has different approach on how to remember and digest the material they studying. CISSP according to me is a concept game with lot of skills to think as a manager from what is required from business prospect. If your English skills are good, then it will be big plus. Each individual has their own strategy to achieve goals and you will have to find your strategy.

Here is what I worked on !!
  1. Take full exam (250 question) to identify your weak domains. Once you Identify, you target studying and mastering those domains first.
  2. Studied the Official study guide (ISC2) - from page to page. (Reference URL section, Books to Buy)