Options

Start First Networking Job Soon. Let's Hear All Your Best Tools, Tricks, and Tips!

drewbert87drewbert87 Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey Everyone,

I'm fortunate to be starting a new position as a network admin for a global company with 1000+ employees in ~20 locations worldwide. This is my first "real" networking job and I know the role will include some VOiP, wireless, and Nexus, which I have very little experience with.

So what are your tips, software tools, tricks, or gotchas to avoid for a first timer? What would you look back and tell yourself as a network professional on your first day if you had to do it over again?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Comments

• Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Take notes
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    KeyboardKeyboard Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Don't click that!
  • Options
    hurricane1091hurricane1091 Member Posts: 919 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Build a lab. VTP mode transparent on every switch you set up, before you plug it into the network. 'reload in (minutes)' for risky config changes that might kick you out of the device.
  • Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    switchport trunk allowed vlan add <vlan>

If you are just trying to add a vlan to the list of allowed vlans and do this command instead:

switchport trunk allowed vlan <vlan>

Oce you press the enter key you may suddenly find that your SSH session is no longer responding or that the device or other devices have suddenly gone offline. You can be assured it was your fault because invariably you removed one, or more, vlans from the trunk(s) that the device needed in order to operate correctly.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Spend time learning the network and the technologies it uses. Don't be afraid to ask questions. Lab up as much as you can to get a feel of how things work together.