Options

Want to get into InfoSec, Looking for advice...

OpenSourceOpenSource Member Posts: 135
Quick background;

I will be 31 in August. I've been building and working on/with computers since I was 13. My father bought a Gateway PC with Win98'.
Honestly, IT is the only thing I've really ever known or been good at.

Anyway... I have my A+ and a 2 year AS degree in Computer Network Systems (a worthless laughably overpriced piece of paper).
My original intention was to eventually move into a networking based role, because I understand you have to start at the bottom.
But I don't enjoy networking anymore and I haven't for many years now.

I tried the call center gig, and that lasted all of 3-4 months before I wanted to kill myself.
Afterwards, I moved onto working as an IT service contractor for a very large technology company.
I worked my way up through several promotions and several different jobs within the company.

Just short of 3 years later, I hit the ceiling in terms of where I was going to go with that company and honestly I just felt burned out.
So I left and decided to take a break, exploring some non-IT related opportunities.
It's been 5-6 months and that adventure is now over.

I'm unemployed and I'm looking to get back into IT.
While the struggle to find work is just part of the gig, I'm trying to consider my future.
Which brings me to the point of this post...

To the point;

I want to move past break fix roles, and move into InfoSec.
With the world becoming more and more digital on a daily basis, I see InfoSec as being something in need, I can develop into a career and something I may actually enjoy (moving beyond mind numbing repetitive redundant break fix).

But that's about all I know.
Aside from the basics, I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to an actual InfoSec job.

So my question is this... Where do I start? How do I get into the world of InfoSec?

I would like to avoid more schooling and worthless expensive degrees.