Options

Finally got exposure to infrasture

georgiosgeorgios Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
I used to be a computer shop technician, a year ago I started to work for an ISP as broadband helpdesk and everyday I just deal with modem, wifi, email and website. I learned a lot but forgot a lot.

Recently I got an internal offer to support our corporate clients who outsource IT support to us. I cant describe how excited I was. Though as a new guy I will get late shift and extra hours but I am still happy.

I always want to go devops. So I'm thinking my next step should be system admin? I could do CCNA if it's a must, or should I start to look at Linux? Any input appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    jelevatedjelevated Member Posts: 139
    Devops, you'll want to pick up some Linux (if thats what side you want to work on), some automation such as Puppet, a script language such as Python, and a compiled such as C or C++.

You don't need to be or transition to a Sysadmin to eventually move to Devops. You can easily find a Jr devops position as long as you have some familiarity with the above.

But do whatever you can to get off the help desk. Its cool if you like it, but the sooner you move onto something else is one step closer to where you want to be.
  • Options
    jelevated wrote: »
    Devops, you'll want to pick up some Linux (if thats what side you want to work on), some automation such as Puppet, a script language such as Python, and a compiled such as C or C++.

You don't need to be or transition to a Sysadmin to eventually move to Devops. You can easily find a Jr devops position as long as you have some familiarity with the above.

But do whatever you can to get off the help desk. Its cool if you like it, but the sooner you move onto something else is one step closer to where you want to be.