Making a career change to IT

NeedachangeNeedachange Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I'm new here. I'm currently a teacher who needs to get out of teaching. It has gotten to the point where my well being is suffering. I have explored many avenues for a career change and I'm thinking going into IT could be good for me. Here's where my questions come in...would I be able to get a decent job by getting an associate degree in computer information systems (I have bachelor's and master's degrees in education). I am currently making $57,000. I cannot go much lower in order to support my family. I figured I would ask those of you already out there in the field. Any advice is appreciated! TIA

Comments

• BuhRockBuhRock Member Posts: 71 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Depends on where your location is, but 57k as a teacher sounds like you're probably in a city. Instead of doing IT, you might do well with looking into a project manager job within IT operations or something. That would def pay more and your current degrees would fit more towards that instead of getting a new AAS. If you want to be hands on, you'll probably have to start at the bottom, but again it's hard to say what salary you're gonna get since it's based on location.
  • Welly_59Welly_59 Member Posts: 431
    Probably not. You can't expect to move I to any field and get paid more than a junior, whatever your previous experience in other roles
  • Press ANY KeyPress ANY Key Member Posts: 25 ■■□□□□□□□□
    In my opinion, I don't think another degree makes sense. You will not get many calls with an associate degree in IS with no experience. If I were in your position, I would get baseline certs like the MCP, A+, Net+ and Sec+/CASP. From there, I would try to get a datacenter tech position. You don't need much experience for that role. Also, companies like Amazon and Microsoft offer security clearances for their datacenter employees.

Once you get your foot in the door, then you can move up from there.