What next to keep progressing?

Welly_59Welly_59 Member Posts: 431
I'm currently employed on a 2nd line networks team, mainly dealing with incident passed from service desk for BAU dealing with return to service issues. Lately I've been doing firewall/routing changes a bit as well.

I'm quite new to this role - 6 months- and also quite new to IT in general - 6 months on help desk, before that I was a retail manager. I passed CCNA in January and I'm currently working towards CCNP which I hope to pass in the new year.

What I'm asking is how do I keep the progression coming, what skills/knowledge would I find most usefull if I was looking to progress to a project/3rd line role?

Faultfinding/returning to service is something I feel pretty confident in now- LAN issues normally present me with no issues, routing is usually pretty clear to me. Firewall, static routing and NAT config is something I'm currently getting more experience in. What should I be looking at next to get more knowledge? As I work for a large MSP I have plenty of opportunities to get some hands on with load balancers, encryptors etc if needed.

Comments

• jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Start looking into

1) network security

2) cloud computing

security + cloud = FTW!
  • DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I think your CCNP goal is great to be honest. I wouldn't over think it, (Not much fun I know), but in all truth CCNP is amazing for your resume and career.

JMHO
  • labscloudlabscloud Member Posts: 137 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'm in the same scenario myself, I'm not sure if I should get my CCNA then get a specialty NA(Security, Wireless) or go straight for my CCNP and then specialize. Decisions, decisions....!!
  • Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□