Options

Looking for a path recommendation for my current situation.

KezekanKezekan Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all. I've been a WGU student for about a year now, and have completed roughly 50% of my degree (B.S. IT security) during that time. I was working two jobs at first, one technical and one non-technical. I ended up quitting the technical job because I was working remote and having a lot of local internet issues. Also... time.

I'm wanting to eventually work in networking/ cybersecurity in a serious role. Right now I'm at a point where I really need to start getting more experience for that to happen, as my "qualifications" (degree, certs) are quickly passing up any relevant experience I have. That being said, I'm not entirely sure what type of job I should be searching for at this point in my career to best help get me where I want to be. I currently have A+ and Net+, and am going to be testing for Linux+ in a couple of weeks. CCENT will be within a few months of that, with CCNA right behind it. As far as experience, I have about 3 years of total experience working in IT, with about 6 months of that having anything to do directly with network support of any kind. Every job I've had thus far has been entry level.

Working remote would be ideal. I'm in the process of relocating to DFW, but it would be great to have my next job before that happens as my current vehicle is pretty run down and I'm about 2 hours from DFW where I currently live. If not, I can get a physical job. I mostly just want to do whatever is going to best push my career forward at this point.

Right now I'm completely on the fence about what I'm even looking for, but here's a basic overview of what I'm trying to decide between:

Entry NOC (Seems a bit out of my league until I get CCNA)
Jr. Network Admin
Cable Tech
Entry Linux Admin (Really like the idea of this but not sure if I'm qualified with just a Linux+. Also don't know if it helps networking career that much.)