Options

Encryption - Likelihood vs Impact

lardo11lardo11 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I'm studying for the CISSP and hoping to take it soon. I took a practice test out of a book, and it had a question that I'm not too sure about what the correct answer is, and I'm not sure I agree with what the answer key says. Here is the question:

Renee is using encryption to safeguard sensitive business secrets when in transit over the Internet. What risk metric is she attempting to lower?
A. Likelihood
B. RTO
C. MTO
D. Impact

Obviously the middle two are wrong. I can see why both A and D would be considered correct, but I thought that D would be the better answer, because it reduces the impact of having the data intercepted, because the attacker wouldn't be able to access the cleartext. The answer key says A is correct because "Using encryption reduces risk by lowering the likelihood that an eavesdropper will be able to gain access to sensitive information."

Am I wrong in my reasoning?

Comments

• Options
    djcarterdjcarter Member Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
    They probably were approaching likelihood of it getting intercepted, versus the way you looked at it as reading or exposure.
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    likelihood and impact are both true, but likelihood is the better answer because it comes first IMO. unless someone gets the encryption key, you're using something like DES (not 3DES), or your password is "password" - good encryption drops likelihood down to all but zero. impact is also zero since nothing bad is going to happen, but you need likelihood to exist before any impact hits, so i'd focus on likelihood being the right one.

a classic example of both answers are right, but what was the person who wrote the question thinking at that particular moment he was writing the answer key.....
  • Options