Options

Powershell for f**kwits

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi guys does anybody know a easy way to get to grips with Powershell? I want to learn some basics. I have looked at the learn in a month of lunches book briefly however it didn't seem to grip my attention.

Can you point me in the direction of some noob friendly material or just give me some general advice or a approach to take.

I am a scripting / programming noob.

Many Thanks
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• Options
    PhalanxPhalanx Member Posts: 331 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Client & Security: Microsoft 365 Modern Desktop Administrator Associate | MCSE: Mobility
    Server & Networking: MCSA: Windows Server 2016 | MTA: Networking Fundamentals
    Data Privacy & Project/Service Management: PECB GDPR DPO/Practitioner | ITIL 2011: Foundation | CompTIA Project+
    Currently Studying: Microsoft 365 Enterprise Administrator Expert
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Start using it. Try and think of use cases you would want to see and figure out how to do it. Google things and see how others used powershell to solve their problem.

I use powershell almost everyday at work and I didn't learn it using a book at all. I just thought of things I needed to do and Googled how to do it. Slowly you keeping adding on your to knowledge and look for more advanced things you can do with it.

Alot of the time I will look up how others solved the same issue I'm having, and just edit their script to solve my exact needs.
  • Options
    PC509PC509 Member Posts: 804 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Just start using it. Get used to the syntax and things. Just play with it.