Options

Need Resume Review

GeekyChickGeekyChick Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm applying for a SOC job and I'm looking for some constructive criticism on my resume. Tell me what you think.

Comments

• Options
    DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I would remove your dates from your degree. Lately I have removed skills and certifications and list all my MOOC, Books etc under professional development.
  • Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    What do you mean by "eligible for DoD Secret Clearance"? Do you have one currently? Did you have one before and it went inactive? Are you hoping for one and if so, why limit it to DoD?

As a hiring manager, my biggest question would be why you left technical roles and why you want to get back into them. Your work history seems to be going backward, with technical roles early on then interning and basic office roles recently.
  • Options
    EANx wrote: »
    What do you mean by "eligible for DoD Secret Clearance"? Do you have one currently? Did you have one before and it went inactive? Are you hoping for one and if so, why limit it to DoD?

As a hiring manager, my biggest question would be why you left technical roles and why you want to get back into them. Your work history seems to be going backward, with technical roles early on then interning and basic office roles recently.

That's exactly been part of my problem with writing my resume. I left the field to stay home with my kids and now I'm returning to the tech field. Would it be good enough to explain my leave of absence in my cover letter?

I do not nor have I had Secret Clearance but our town is heavily military and I thought that would help if I mentioned that. I guess what I was getting at was I could qualify for Secret Clearance, no felonies etc. Does that make sense of should I leave it off?
  • Options