Options

Going round in circles

CyberCop123CyberCop123 Member Posts: 338 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm looking to move into an IT Security role and possibly at some point maybe PenTesting which I have an interest in and some developing skills.

Currently I work in digital forensics but I do have some basic scripting and programming skills (Python, Shell Scripting, PHP) and I'm very confident with Linux.

I'm an ex web developer too so my knowledge of that side is fairly decent.

I'm going round in circles though. I'm pretty eager to just book an exam in and get started.

- I did plan to start OSCP in September but that's a lot to learn and I feel it's a very tough challenge, particularly for the first cert.

- I had done some preperation for CEH and so I thought I'd do that instead

- As I work in digital forensics I thought I'd then move straight onto CHFI which shouldn't be too huge a challenge as it's what I generally do day-to-day and all my training courses have been in that subject area

- I've now seen Network+ is a good starting point and with my current knowledge I could probably pass with some hard study over a 4-6 week period... and the exam is more affordable too

- I also considered Linux+ as I already have a good knowledge of it

- I also considered the MCSA as work agreed to fund the exams but I'd have to self-study. This is a ton of work though as my knowledge of server admin on Windows is basically nothing

As you can see it's a real mess really. I'm keen to get some official certs on paper and to just start. The CEH costs a fair bit but as you know it's valued by HR and Recruiters so a good place to start... and I could move onto CHFI after

I think I'm basically a bit torn between Starting with Network+ (which doesn't seem at all of value in job hunting)
OR
Going CEH/CHFI instead

Sorry for the long post but just really confused atm
My Aims
2017: OSCP -
COMPLETED
2018: CISSP -
COMPLETED
2019: GIAC GNFA - Advanced Network Forensics & Threat Hunting -
COMPLETED