Packet Tracer Topology Issue....

FreejoleFreejole Member Posts: 30 ■□□□□□□□□□
IPv6wtf_zpsbpabdlxg.png.html?sort=3&o=0Hey guys I am currently studying for CCNA R&S, and came to this point through the book I am working through where I don't understand how to replicate the topology in the books example. I am attaching a screenshot. To this point in the book (14 chapters in), none of the labs have had this 'branch off' type topology before, every connection has going directly to another switch, router, and the occasional hub. Is the book assuming I will stick a switch on each side of Router C to connect A/B and D/E to? The book to this point has been overly explanatory and err'd on the side of assuming you know nothing, so I just don't understand why I am just now seeing this type of topology and how they want me to recreate it to complete the lab. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• FreejoleFreejole Member Posts: 30 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Sorry couln't upload the exact example but here is a similar one. In the topology to the left of Router A, how is it that the DNS server and the Client are on the same logical ethernet cable? Am I missing something here? Thanks again dhcp-topology.png
  • DCDDCD Member Posts: 473 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Ok thats what I ended up doing it seemed like the only option. Its just that literally the first 14 chapters of the book always put every device in the diagram and then with no warning starting expressing them like that. Thanks!
  • trac0detrac0de Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hey,
    What book are you reading?
    Mr. Odom said at the beginning that lines which cross means there should be a switch. He said that at the beginning of the book.
    Its by Todd Lammle called CCNA Routing and Switching Complete Study Guide (2nd edition)
  • Ltat42aLtat42a Member Posts: 587 ■■■□□□□□□□
    @Freejole
    Todd offers PT labs for those who purchase his books -