Options

Advantages for one school's degree versus another / Job Questions

ekgekg Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Techexams, first post here. :D

As a preface.. I have been working in the IT field for three years this September, with one job that has provided an incredible environment for learning. Long story short, my company will support any program, any network/environment, any sector with the exception of specialized programs that do require vendor contracts in case we need guidance. Because the environment is very akin to the "Wild Wild West" has made me very familiar with almost all aspects of IT and I'm looking to move in a single direction. That direction is a degree and career in CS as it is a very popular choice among many in IT.

Currently, I am have two years of Tier 2 (Out of 3) remote experience and 1 year as a field tech. I am studying for my Network+ certification because I got a voucher through my college class for Network+ and plan to take it on the 25th of this month. I also plan on taking my ICND1 Exam in the coming months. I am currently attending Collin College in Texas and have been following their AAS - Information Systems Cybersecurity degree (https://www.collin.edu/academics/programs/pdf/info_system_cybersecurity.pdf) which enables me to transfer to Tarleton State (A&M School) where I would take classes online and pursue a Bachelors degree with a focus on CS..

Since I have been reading today, I've seen post after post after post about WGU, and I am wondering: Is it worth switching it up and completing a degree online? Why? Why not? I see the advantage of being able to complete everything online, but I feel like the convenience has to have some kind of drawback. I'm about half way through the degree as listed in the link above. I need to complete a degree, but I'm not sure if it really matters -from where-. If anyone could offer any advice, it would be greatly appreciated.

Job questions