Options

Does ITIL Expert certification make a change?

Anna B-PAnna B-P Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I really like ITIL and the way it structures the processes and makes life easier. At the very beggining of my career, when I studied to ITIL Foundation exam, I felt like I am forced to learn something unuseful and I thought passing the Foundation exam is pointless. Then I had to attend the ITIL OSA training and completely fell in love with the topic. Since that time I have attended and passed 2 other ITIL Intermediate certifications, RCV and SOA. I passed all 3 exams passed with 38/40 grade, which I think is quite good (but it doesn't matter) and makes me feel more confident about my knowledge. Now I plan to take ITIL PPO. In the future I would like to learn about COBIT or SixSigma, but for now I want to finish with ITIL.

So I am really passionate about the topic, I love to explain these things to people, I love it when I can I improve things in my environment and suggest improvements to processes. Unfortunately I got stuck in a job disconnected with the topic and it is hard for me to get hired in a dream, ITIL/ITSM related position.

I wonder if the ITIL Expert certificaiton can make a change? Does it make a person more noticeable in the market, or it doesn't matter at all? Is there any chance that after passing the MALC exam I will grab recruiters attention and at least have a chance to present my skills, approach and experience?

I am asking that because I wonder if I should focus on the topic and make the Expert certification on my own, as soon as possible, or maybe - if it doesn't make any change - just wait for an occasion and wait for any company to invest? I know it sounds bad, but the trainigs are not cheap and it is impossible to take an exam without having the training first... I can pay the money, take holidays for the training etc. but if it doesn't make a change there is no point...

Thanks in advance for any answer!

Comments

• Options