Connecting a router and a switch

SiLentThReaDSiLentThReaD Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I'm a newbie here.

I just did a virtual lab, in which I connected a Cisco 1900 Switch with a Cisco Router. I pinged it, and it was a successfull connection.

The lab explained everything, except the main idea.
Please bare with me on this question.

Why would I connect a Router and a Switch for ?

I am reading the tech notes provided, but the router and the switch
thingy just boogles my brain.

Thanks,
SiLentThReaD
My next goal is the Network+ Certification.
I can almost taste it.

Comments

• WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Why would I connect a Router and a Switch for ?

for several reasons:

The first is the most common:
    WAN/Internet
    router
    switch---clients/hub/switches.

second, which goes for layer 2 and layer 3 switches is to route information between VLANs ("inter-VLAN communication")

Switch(with VLAN 1 and 2)
    router
    Switch(with VLAN 3 and 4)

I hope this helps!

Are you peparing for Network+ or CCNA?
  • SiLentThReaDSiLentThReaD Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Yes, I am studying for Network+ exam.

The A+ was easy, because I have a PC at home, and I did all the physical,software upgrading and troubleshooting.

The Network+ is more difficult, since I don't have a spare LAN hanging around. :D

I bought a Network+ study package which comes with a book, and a virtual lab. The virtual lab is where I did this Cisco config thingy.

Thanks for your help.

I have a few more questions, if that is okay.

1-So, if I only have VLAN1 and VLAN2, I would only need
    a router, and not a switch ?
    It looks to me like the switch is only needed if there are more
    than one local area networks.

2-When the router is used for internet connection, does it directly
    connect to the ISP. If this is the case, must it be a static IP ?

Sorry for all the questions icon_sad.gif
    I can almost taste it.