Options

Job Hunting

MrDrewMrDrew Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have applied for 28 jobs in the last 3 days and I've already gotten 6 rejections for entry level positions. I left a career in television news to pursue what interests and fascinates me. I just managed to get my CompTIA A+, managed to do rackspace's CloudU cert, and I'm studying for the Network+. I get the very distinct feeling I'm going to continue adding to my pile of 97+ rejection letters now with IT help desk letters due to only having hobby and volunteer work in the IT field. Anyone have any advice besides to be patient and something will come along?

Comments

• Options
    mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Talk to an IT staffing agency and have them find you a contract role. That's how I got started and probably the easiest way to break into IT.
    Certs: CISSP, CySA+, Security+, Network+ and others | 2019 Goals: Cloud Sec/Scripting/Linux

• Options
    Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    yep this is reality.
    Let us see your resume minus personal information. Getting a noob resume to look well is actually quite harder than one can imagine due to lack of exp.

Also, contract companies can actually be effective when you are a noob. More annoying later down the road though.
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • Options
    koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You have to try to keep your head up and keep an overall positive attitude, as a negative one could rub off on the people interviewing you without you even noticing what you are doing. I know it can be discouraging but you have to keep trying after making some key improvements.