Options

Transitioning to Networking....

FreejoleFreejole Member Posts: 30 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys! So I just passed my CCNA:R&S on Monday and am going to be looking to get my foot in the door of any networking jobs that I can. I am 31 and have been a professional tattoo artist for the past 10 years. I have no formal experience in networking or IT, my dad was a computer programmer ever since I was little so i've just always be around it. My tattoo career has been extremely successful, i've been in magazines and won awards at conventions all over the US and am sponsored by a few companies, but little of that relates to networking in any way.

From any of you guys experience, what would be the best way for me to make that transition? I have been very up front on my resume and when I interview I will make it clear that I am here to learn, not like getting the CCNA cert makes me some kind of big head know it all. I haven't 'oversold' my qualifications on the resume, im just wanting to come in humble and start at the bottom and get some real world experience as I work toward my CCNP.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Are you still going to tattoo?

Getting into networking is difficult. Most will suggest starting in a helpdesk/desktop role and moving up from there. You could also look for entry level NOC jobs, or maybe find a VAR that is looking for junior guys.

Keep learning and labbing, the more skilled you are, the better your chances will be.
  • Options
    Phileeeeeeep651Phileeeeeeep651 Member Posts: 179 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Out of curiosity, it sounds like your tattooing business has been quite successful, why the transition to IT?