InfoSec Student Advice

josh29josh29 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey what's up everybody,

I’m a student about to graduate with a BAS in IT Network Administration & Security next June. I’m very interested in more the security side, specifically penetration testing – and not the type that just scans a customer network with Nessus and then hands them the report, or just tries to exploit the "reds". Check out this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yo4oP2eyDtI

I got the CompTIA A+, Net+, Sec+ triad out of the way this year and although I know certs can mean nothing and at the end of the day it’s about knowledge, passion, and experience – I feel like as someone trying to break into the industry they are beneficial.

At my current internship, my responsibility is to help create security focused technical documentation relating to the companies product RFIs, and setup/configure a vulnerability management program using Nessus. It’s been a great experience, and I’ve learned a lot about the difference between what’s taught in class and the real world in terms of GRC.

Sorry if this is long winded, just trying to give some context...

So my question is, with about 9 months until graduation and my internship ending in the next couple weeks, I’ll have time outside of class and homework to focus on my home lab and certifications. From your perspective, would you recommend someone with no real sysadmin/netadmin experience to focus on things like eCPPT and OSCP before graduation with a plan to land a junior role? Or would it be better to study for and obtain say an MCSA 2012 and LFCS, get a sysadmin job for a couple years while learning in that space about systems and network administration, keep doing CTFs, home labbing, and doing things like eLearnSecutiy and OffSec certs – then move into a pen test role as it presents itself?

Thanks for any input :)

Comments

• 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□