Networking to Programming

offmymoundoffmymound Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
I want to move into Programming. I have a degree in networking. I took a programming class in college as well as a database class. My plan is to start out learning Python and get a really good grasp of it and then learn sql. There are a lot of things that sound interesting in programming to me such as data analysis and devops. I have my CCNA in R&S and want to continue with networking, I just don't think it is right for me. What would be other useful things to learn in order to land an entry programming job?

Comments

• MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Python is good. Not my area but I'd think for Devops, java, python, ruby, Jenkins, etc would be good skills to have.

Why do you feel networking is not for you?
  • yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Discrete math, algorithms, design patterns -- better yet look at the curriculum of the school you went to and see which courses you would have took had you done a computer science degree. See if you can access the syllabi of the classes to get an index of the stuff those courses teach. All that stuff.

For a bit of anecdote, I took computer science 1 and 2 in college. I interviewed for an entry level programming job (which I didn't land) and later found out that some of the questions I didn't know were from concepts covered in computer science 3 and 4.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    CS Curriculum and one of the code academy should get you off on the right foot. A lot of it depends on your overall aptitude and your design and development aptitude.

One things I have noticed personally either you are good at this type of work or you are not......