A Quick question regarding Filtering in switching

wattsdt01wattsdt01 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

New to the forum, so if i'm posting in the wrong place please let me know!

I'm studying for my CCNA exam, I have had very little exposure to networking, but do have some basic knowledge due to my 1st and 2nd IT support jobs I've worked in. So expect more questions:D

My question is;

When a switch receives a frame, it first checks the source's MAC address, to begin building it's internal MAC address table.

If it doesn't have the MAC address on it's list, it chooses to 'flood' every port.
When it does have the MAC address, it chooses to 'forward' to the port indicated on it's list of MAC addresses.
But if the switch sees that the MAC address is the same for both the source and the destination, it 'drops' the frame.

So, the switch has incorrectly added (for example) Host1 and Host2 to its list as being on the same port.

But what about when Host1 needs to send a frame to Host2? It will just continue to drop every frame that's being sent? Surely that means the information will never get to its destination?

I Hope this makes sense!

thanks in advance!

Comments

• albinorhino187albinorhino187 Member Posts: 117 ■■■□□□□□□□
    How would both hosts get on the same port? If it's a trunk port, both MACs would be listed, but that switch would never have to process the frame from Host1 to Host2 since the downstream switch would be handling it via unicast within itself.

Maybe I'm being shortsighted, but I guess I can't envision that in a real world scenario.