Options

Cert Tracks for Red and Blue Teams

jallen2020jallen2020 Member Posts: 6 ■■■□□□□□□□
I've recently been tasked with coming up for a standard certification track for both Red and Blue teams for our organization. I'll start by saying that I am not a technical expert, and on the management/executive side. I've polled our analysts, done some research, and have some preliminary lists together. Would love some feedback on the below, or if anyone else has additions or a different order, would love to hear it. Keep in mind we are a small SOC (7 people), so don't really have any differentiation between Blue team and an IR team per say. We are a Windows (mainly) environment.

Red Team:
Linux+
GSEC
eJPT
eCPPT
GPYC
OSCP
OSCE
Specializations: OSEE and/or OSWE

Blue Team:
Security+
CSA+
GCIA
GCWN
SEC599 class (Test coming? This is still in beta)
GCFE
GCFA
GREM

Comments

• Options
    yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    LFCS instead of Linux+ and move the Linux cert to blue team as it really focuses more on best practice/ proper configuration rather than offensive things.
    https://training.linuxfoundation.org/certification/lfcs

I suggest GCIH for blue team too.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Under Blue Team I would also place the CCNA: Cyber Ops and Security certs plus Logical Operations Cybersec First Responder (admittedly not much market share for this one but has some pretty good information).
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • Options
    E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,229 ■■■■■■■■■■
    yoba222 wrote: »
    I suggest GCIH for blue team too.

Agreed!

Also, GPEN for red team.