Passed Today!

MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
I passed my exam today.

794 was my score, so I got nearly 90% of the exam correct. Not bad seeing as though I've never really worked on a server. I have only worked on my very small LAN with 4 computers, wireless.

Well, I know what most of the questions are going to be -

What's Next?

I'm planning on going with the 70-270 exam. I have a friend who gave me his copy of the TestOut software.

I want to go towards the CCNA but I feel like this might be way over my head due to no "real" network experience. I also have access to the TestOut software for CCNA also.

I want to steer towards Server+, Security+ and Linux+. I have NO Linux experience, so taking this exam in the near future is a real problem.

Should I purchase a Linux version to take this exam? I have heard that most versions of Linux are free, what it be possible for me to download a copy of Linux... work on it for about a month, study and take the exam?

Would anyone be able to help me out with a path to go down?

I would also like to thank everyone on this forum.

The majority of my questions were on servers, TCP/IP and troubleshooting TCP/IP. I had about 2 or 3 questions on ports... about 3 on the OSI model. Just seemed like most of the questions were on troubleshooting.

Thanks everyone!

Jamie
2017 Certification Goals:
CCNP R/S

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Congratulations! icon_thumright.gif

When you're just starting out with certifications and trying to decide on the next one, a good rule would be -- which certification will advance you in your current job or get you a new better job? You may have search some of the job boards or read the want ads to see who is hiring what in your area.