Passed CISSP last week! (1 year of studying off and on)

IronSerifIronSerif Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Long time lurker first time poster. I've been working in the IT field in various roles for the past 12 years, and I've accumulated the following certs:

A+, Net+, Sec+, CEH, EDRP, GSEC, GCFA, GAWN, and GCIA.

I took a bootcamp about this time last year, but didn't feel fully prepared after it. The instructor did very well, but I was also studying for my GCFA and GCIA around the same time. And those SANS certs have a 4 month expiration period if I remember correctly, so studying for those had to come first!

The notes from the bootcamp helped and I would refer back to them throughout the year or as points of study. If anyone ever takes a bootcamp, please take notes! It makes things so much easier later on.

I went through a few books, including the one included with the bootcamp: Official (ISC)2 Guide to the CISSP CBK, Fourth Edition ((ISC)2 Press) by Adam Gordon.

That book has A LOT of info and material in it and it is very lengthy. So much info to the point it was hard to concentrate, focus, and keep with it. So I put that one to the side.

The ones I felt were really helpful were:

11th Hour
All In One by Shon Harris

I also started with the IT Pro TV videos which I believe had Adam Gordon. Great content, but very long winded. Then I heard of the videos through Cybrary with Kelly Handerhan. These are legit. I combined this with the official CISSP Practice tests and that combination seemed to be my silver bullet. I referenced the 11th hour once in awhile but the Cybrary videos and the explanations from the practice tests really hit it home. I wish I would have discovered that combination sooner.

For the past month and a half I would listen to these videos on my commute to work, while working out, and while mowing the lawn.