Options

Passed CISA 29 September. BONUS: study advice for cheapskates.

ISACA_your_bloodISACA_your_blood Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
​As per the title, I received provisional pass today. I'd like to share my experience and provide some advice for people who are anxious about spending big on supplementary training material.

For some background, I have a broad ops background and more recently 5 years in infosec, but very little hands-on auditing. I have been fairly anxious about the whole thing and I really only think I properly grasped some of the key concepts a couple of days ago. I started studying earlier in the year but didn’t really get into the swing of it until a couple of months ago. Had concentration and confidence issues initially which I resolved with some light exercise and some whacko ginkgo+bacopa supplements (I’m not into the woo - to be honest I think they just helped me sleep better and hence made me more on the ball in general).

As for material, buy the QAE and CRM only. I’ll admit the CRM was a bore (literally put me to sleep on several occasions) but I ploughed through it once the reality of an impending deadline kicked in. The QAE results were initially depressing, going from 60-70% in adaptive mode, but jumped to 80-95% once I reached standard mode and resolved my trouble questions. Remember to keep a positive reflective attitude with the QAE - disappointment will not help you learn the concept outlined in the explanation. See them as opportunities to learn something you didn't know previously, rather a reflection of your ability to learn.

The best method IMO is:
  1. Skim through the CRM table of contents for concepts that don't look familiar and read those chapters.
  2. Only do 20 questions at a time in the QAE for the first few weeks.
  3. Use the rubric to map out prescribed reading based on your results.
  4. Read.
  5. Cycle through steps 2-4 a dozen or so times
  6. Do some 100 question tests.
  7. Cry.
  8. Return to step 3.