Need advice on advancing in my career

keeranbrikeeranbri Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I have been working as a help desk analyst for almost 6 years now. 2 years which I was a Helpdesk at a Software technology company and 4 years at one the best hospital in the country. Basically at the hospital, we answer calls and troubleshoot for multiple hospital apps and handle multiple different locations. It is mostly Password resets through AD on many applications, printer installs, and of course 1st level troubleshooting on anything before sending it to 2nd tier or 3rd. However, I feel like I am getting burned out and want to make more money and I don't want to be doing help desk for the rest of my life. The only thing is that I work from home most of the time and work 4 weeks at home and come back to the office every 5th week. I make almost $24.00 and save gas and can always be home for my wife and kids when they need me.

Do you think It would be beneficial for me if I start self studying for the security+ and pass it that I would be able to get a entry level, or JR system admin, security analyst , network admin type of job since I have a lot help desk experience. Would I make more then what I am making now. I feel like I can't leave the work from home perk that I have with the hospital.

Comments

• Repo ManRepo Man Member Posts: 300
    I would talk to your company about how to advance your career internally where the work at home perk would be available. I'd expect most companies hiring a junior level worker in a new role for the first time expect them in the office every single day. If there are no options internally, you need to make a decision of what's most important to you.
  • EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□