Options

Advice Please About Information Security Field

vip1982vip1982 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

I'm really confused and i need your help please, I have 10 years experience in IT infrastructure, risk management and Network domains. Now i work as IT manager 35 Years old. icon_rolleyes.gif

As the demand on the security field has increased dramatically recently, i'm thinking of start directing toward the security domain by start taking CISSP, (I already have Security+) then i will take CISM and so on. The question is "is it too late?" is it the right path for me, or shall i go for more management stuff? I mean is it possible with my past experience in general IT areas to be one day security manager after getting the required experience and certificates?

I really appreciate your opinion on this. Thank You :)

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You lost me at 35 being too old for anything. You're already working in management, but wondering if a longer term plan of security manager is out of reach, no, it's not. Your cert plan sounds fine, I'd try to get some security management under your current role first before moving on if that's even possible, even if it's a project or two so that you can highlight it going forward. Am I missing something or were you planning on going full technical security first then into management again?
  • Options
    EnderWigginEnderWiggin Member Posts: 551 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Danielm7 wrote: »
    You lost me at 35 being too old for anything.
    "Don't trust anyone over 30!" icon_thumright.gif
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    vip1982 wrote: »
    is it possible with my past experience in general IT areas to be one day security manager after getting the required experience and certificates?

"Why wouldn't you be able to?" is a better question.

Pretty crazy you think 35 might be "too late" to do anything.
  • Options