Options

What's it like to be a penetration tester/Ethnical Hacker?

HCPS123HCPS123 Member Posts: 54 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm probably going to come across sounding like a noob in this thread so I apologize in advance for my ignorance. I'm HCPS123, HC for short, nice to meet you. I have a degree in Criminal Justice with a minor in Cyber security and to cut a long story short I've made a lot of mistakes I see people on this forum warn about/get annoyed with. Mistakes such as thinking being an FBI/NCIS agent was like how they portrayed it on TV, mistakes like thinking that a Crim degree with a minor in Cyber Security would be enough to land me a job in the InfoSec field (this one would be particular hilarious if I hadn't f-ed myself career wise).

So I want to try and avoid those mistakes by asking more about the job BEFORE I invest a large amount of time and money to get into the field. So what is it like to be a Penetration Tester/Ethical Hacker? Is a Penetration Tester the same as an Ethical Hacker or are they two different types of jobs? What's the lifestyle like? What do they do on a day to day basis? What do you enjoy about it? What kind of salary do they normally make (*Crosses fingers* 6 figure, 6 figure, 6 figure)? What do you hate about it? Are their any kind of liabilities with this job? (For example a liability with being a youtuber is youtube itself, in that they will often change rules regarding video posting and monetary output without warning so you can get SUPER F-ed if you don't have a backup plan in place) and just any information you feel someone trying to pursue this career should know.

Comments

• Options
    yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I occasionally contribute to pen tests at my company but mainly do other security-related things. I find it can be a little emotionally jarring because of the context switching.