Options

Do I need to take the CCNA RS before I take the CCNA security

donx4donx4 Member Posts: 13 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all,

Il be finishing my degree in computing science now around may. I went back to college in my mid 20s and study in the evenings. Once im finished the degree im going to be moving on to a masters in cyber security, again part time. the gap between these will be 26 -28 weeks ish of "free time", in the evenings anyway. im studying for the SSCP in tandem with the degree which il sit 3 or 4 weeks after I finish, which will leave me with lets say 22 weeks free.

Ive been working on a it service desk for a large Bank for 3 years, I did application support but it wasnt very technial. I have done a number of network moduals through college, ive also previously studied for the CCENT last summer for a number of weeks but I never pulled the trigger on the exam.

My question is have viable is it to reach the CCNA Security within 22 weeks? Do I have to do the CCNA RS, I mean its not required but would it be too much of a jump from CCENT to CCNA security, would it be recommended to sit the CCNA RS first?

Thanks!!

Comments

• Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    donx4 wrote: »
    I mean its not required but would it be too much of a jump from CCENT to CCNA security, would it be recommended to sit the CCNA RS first?

I went from CCENT to CCNA:Sec. Don't believe you need the INCD2 knowledge to pass the Security test as it doesn't deal with setting up R&S.
  • Options
    donx4donx4 Member Posts: 13 ■■■□□□□□□□
    from what I read its tricky enough, the CCNA S. how did you find the content ? what sort of experience did you have doing it? how long did you study
  • Options
    Moldygr33nb3anMoldygr33nb3an Member Posts: 241
    It helps. I'm currently studying for CCNA Sec, and some material is related to CCNA R&S which allows me to feel more familiar with it.
    Current: OSCP

Next: CCNP (R&S and Sec)

Follow my OSCP Thread!