Options

Behavioral interview questions

denis92denis92 Member Posts: 67 ■■■□□□□□□□
Are behavioral interview questions common in IT? You would think the technical questions are much more important. Anyone know of the best way to prepare for such questions? I have limited work experience since I am 24, much of my time was spent as a freelance chemistry tutor. Not exactly sure how I can answer these questions.

Comments

• Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    In some places. Such inane questions. Despise them.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    PocketLumberjackPocketLumberjack Member Posts: 162 ■■■□□□□□□□
    When I interviewed at Mayo Clinic they sent me this link, it’s really useful. https://www.mayoclinic.org/jobs/how-to-apply/preparing-for-interview I don’t mind behavioral based interviews, but I do like technical. The problem is that not everyone in the room interviewing you understands technology, but they can get a good idea of how you’ll fit with the way you answer behavioral questions. But this is all just my opinion, I’m not smart so take it with a grain of salt.
    Learn some thing new every day, but don’t forget to review things you know.
  • Options
    UncleBUncleB Member Posts: 417
    denis92 wrote: »
    Are behavioral interview questions common in IT? You would think the technical questions are much more important. Anyone know of the best way to prepare for such questions? .

Can you clarify what you mean by behavioral questions? If you mean "how would you handle an irate customer" sort of thing then they are bread and butter question for helpdesk and support type roles where your behavior is very much under the spotlight because you are interacting with the whole business and represent IT to them.