Options

Passed Security+ exam

PseudonymousPseudonymous Member Posts: 78 ■■■□□□□□□□
Just got home from taking the test. This was my first attempt at taking it. I was nervous as hell because I failed the Network+ twice (barely passed it the 3rd time) and I really couldn't afford to take the Security+ certification training more than once. I've been studying off and on for about 6 months. I probably could've taken it earlier, but I was nervous about failing so I kept putting it off.

As usual, most of the questions were pretty long. There was 1 simulation that I just didn't understand AT ALL (I can't talk about the details of it because of the NDA). When I say "AT ALL" I mean that I didn't understand what it was asking me to do lol. Luckily though, I was able to pass. Not only pass, but pass which a much higher score than I thought I got.

Resources I used:
  • Darril Gibson - I used his book, audio files, flash cards, questions... everything I could get my hands on because he's so highly recommended here. He defininitley helped a lot. I'm not a book reader, but it was able to read through most of without daydreaming or staring off.
  • Professor Messer - I used him for the 70-680, A+, N+, & S+. Although I feel like sometimes he doesn't go into as much detail as he should, it's free and extremely helpful since he follows the objectives in order.
  • Mike Chappel - I watched his video from Lynda.com. If you have Lynda, I'd recommend using him.
  • Mike Meyers - I got SUPER lucky and someone pointed out that his video course was $10 on Udemy so yesterday I bought it and spent ALL day watching his videos. With only one day before the exam, I didn't know if he would help, but he did help fill in some of the gaps of things I didn't fully understand.
  • CertMaster - This is the 3rd time I've bought CertMaster. Honestly... it didn't help for Security+ (or Network+, but it helped a lot for the A+).