Options

Masters vs certificate program vs selfstudy: Cannot decide?

keeranbrikeeranbri Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello,

Needed advice from all you techs and professionals. I currently have Bachelors in technical management with a concentration in networking, graduated about 8-9 years ago. I have no certificates under my belt, although I have been working as a help desk analyst for the past 6 years. I'm 41 years old and not getting any younger, but I definitely want to get into a more specialized IT field, specifically security is my first choice since I feel it is a very interesting field that is growing. However, I just don't know what to do to get started...should I start off with security + and self study the exam by reading Darryl Gibson book and Messers videos and notes, then start going down the line to study and take the exams of more advanced security certificates. Should I take a certificate program at a online university that offers those 6-12 months IT cybersecurity programs or should I go through a Master degree. I have read that in the IT Field, most employers value certificates more. Also, I wanted to add that my Employer has tuition reimbursement but they only cover up to $5250 for a full year on bachelors/masters/certificate programs and $1000 per year for taking exams such as A+, network +, sec + etc. The cost of university tuition these days are well over 6 grand per year and I don't want to have another student loan to pay. Anyways, I hope I can get some good feedback about my question so It can help me decide what path I should take.

Comments

• Options
    asuraniaasurania Member Posts: 145
    Yea Focus on certification

Phase 1:
    I would get Security+ and CISSP out of the way (you will get the associate of ISC2 instead of CISSP till you get the experience) - Those are the HR filter courses.
    (CISSP / Associate of ISC2 via CISSP Exam) - is almost mandatory for any security field, so might as well just get it out of the way first.