Options

Security baselines

cbolarcbolar Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey Team,

I'm currently working testing CIS baselines for Windows 10 and have come across some difficulty with helping other departments understand why it's needed. How do you approach other's that have difficulty understanding things from the security perspective? I'm new to the security field, it's provided some excellent opportunities but also some interesting challenges.

I don't want to approach this in a "I'm right, you're wrong" sense. Yes I can prove it and show the data. I want to help them understand that it's going to take time to perform testing and go through working sessions to see what's "broken".

Feel free to drop some suggestions or share some challenges you've faced.

Comments

• Options
    shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□
    CompTIA A+, Network+, i-Net+, MCP 70-210, CNA v5, Server+, Security+, Cloud+, CySA+, ISC² CC, ISC² SSCP
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Helping them understand what exactly? Using CIS baselines, baselines in general, not getting hacked?
  • Options
    Using the CIS baselines and why testing is critical before rolling out to production. Things are locked down in my test gpo a lot further than people are used to. I had a meeting shortly after the post and I think it went well. I'm hoping that it sinks in with the less technical members of the team.
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□