Options

Passed Security+, what next?

AaronW1994AaronW1994 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
So yesterday I passed my Security+ with an 811, after 3 Months of Studying using only Daryl Gibsons Book. Excellent book that I would recommend to anyone!
I had only had minimal exposure to InfoSec before the exam, currently doing an Internship that I am 3 Months into. I know that I would like to enter into the InfoSec Field, but I am not 100% sure yet which area, and I would like to pass at least 1-2 more Exams before I finish my Internship to solidify myself as a good candidate for when I finish my Degree.

What would your recommendations for exams be now that I have cleared my Sec+? I was thinking about an MCSA for Server 2012, but I am open to any ideas!

Comments

• Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Minimal exposure ... pass more exams to solidify yourself as a good candidate....

As a hiring manager, I do appreciate certs, but I also value (more highly) someone who can walk in and say they know how to use Nessus, Splunk, Bro, Wireshark, Kali (and Linux for that matter), etc. Now that you've got the Security+, I'd recommend downloading and learning some of the tool sets you'll be expected to know for the job. If there's a job opening and I've got some guy with a Security+ and CSA+ in front of me but doesn't have any hands-on experience versus a guy with a Security+ and has been running Security Onion on his home network for two years - I know which one I'm more likely to hire!
  • Options
    AaronW1994AaronW1994 Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Minimal exposure ... pass more exams to solidify yourself as a good candidate....