Options

Network Engineer- Mostly Switching/VPNs

nothimagainnothimagain Member Posts: 72 ■■□□□□□□□□
So i recently accepted my first jr network engineer position , but the job seems to mostly entail dealing with Switches/Firewall VPNs and not much routing if any at all.. I wanted to know if im hurting myself career wise by not getting hands routing experience at this job. Im still studying for networking certs , but i want to know if in the future should i avoid these type of environments or is the norm for network engineers to mostly deal with switches?

Comments

• Options
    MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Experience is experience.

I deal with mostly firewalls/switching/vpns as well. They are layer 3 switches which do routing. The actual routers in my environment are provider provided, so I have no access to them.
  • Options
    ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
    So i recently accepted my first jr network engineer position , but the job seems to mostly entail dealing with Switches/Firewall VPNs and not much routing if any at all.. I wanted to know if im hurting myself career wise by not getting hands routing experience at this job. Im still studying for networking certs , but i want to know if in the future should i avoid these type of environments or is the norm for network engineers to mostly deal with switches?

There is no normal. You will eventually need to progress into different tasks, but this is a good opportunity to learn a great deal about L2.
  • Options
    Welly_59Welly_59 Member Posts: 431
    Same as me. The only routing we do is statics in our core. Everything else is ISP provided
  • Options
    FadakartelFadakartel Member Posts: 144
    at least your doing IP networking and getting experience.

I did ISP stuff like SDH/DWDM which nobody uses outside of ISP`s so don`t worry about it experience is experience.
  • Options
    nothimagainnothimagain Member Posts: 72 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Fadakartel wrote: »