Options

Switch from engineering to security - Security+, MTA security fundamentals ,.. ? Lost

TitigTitig Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I am a software engineer with 2 years of experience, and I'm interested in Security.
Actually, I have an opportunity to take a Msc Degree in Cyber security (part time) - but as it's quiet expensive I want to be sure that I want to pursue a career in security (the degree ends with an internship, which means that I would have to quit my current job).
For that reason, I'd like to take a certification first, to be 100% that I'm ready to "sacrify" 2 years of my life working and studying icon_surprised.gif!
Do you think that the Security+ would be a good one to start ? My knowledge of Network is quiet bad, so I'm a little bit lost... Maybe I should start with Network+ and then take the Security+ one ? what about the MTA security fundamentals ?

Thanks ! :)

Comments

• Options
    jibtechjibtech Member Posts: 424 ■■■■■□□□□□
    From where you are, the best first step is the CompTIA trifecta. A+/Net+/Sec+. They provide a great foundation around IT in general, from the non-coding side. From there, you will need to decide what aspect of security interests you.

Red Team: You want to look at things like eJPPT, OSCP, etc. There is also good value in the SANS certs.

Blue Team: For this approach, you should look more at network security. MCSA/MCSE, CCNA, CCNA:Security, etc.

The MTA series is an interesting primer, but offers little in the way of recognition or real learning. Most IT folks with a couple years of experience can sit them successfully without studying. The MCSA mentioned above is the real entry point in the MS world. If you are more interested in the Linux world, I would recommend looking at the Linux+ or LPIC series.

Hope it helps.
  • Options
    Hi Jibtech,
    thanks a lot, yes it helps ! :)