Options

Anyone Work in the Public Sector?

zdxzdx Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm not happy with where I'm at. I'm a Desktop Support Tech and I make about 33k a year. The benefits are great but I really could use the money to buy my own place. I'm required to live in town and be on call 24/7 and since its for a municipality that means calls about officers not being able to work detectives and those above are in the office late at night and need to something to be setup. Its part of the job but its sometimes hard to get by living here and I feel like arguing for a raise would be pointless. I don't feel like being here anymore. Is it any better at other public sector jobs? I've been looking into applying at another municipality or maybe a college. I value more life/work balance then a paycheck but here its neither of that.

Comments

• Options
    Welly_59Welly_59 Member Posts: 431
    Whats your location? People might be better informed to advise on your salary in comparison to your locality if they know where you are
  • Options
    McxRisleyMcxRisley Member Posts: 494 ■■■■■□□□□□
    IMO, arguing for a raise is never pointless. The worst your boss could do is say no. Maybe you could do something to make yourself more valuable like obtaining some work relevant certifications or do some schooling like you mentioned. You could use that in your argument for a raise. This method has always worked for me.
    I'm not allowed to say what my previous occupation was, but let's just say it rhymes with architect.
  • Options
    N7ValiantN7Valiant Member Posts: 363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Different locales have different governments. In mine, the pay is low but the pensions are great. However people often have a habit of being dead-ended by public sector jobs. What I mean is that the State workers are typically lazy and unmotivated and rarely move on from their positions. YMMV, but I wouldn't do it unless it was temporary(first job or something).
    OSCP
    MCSE: Core Infrastructure