Options

Passed CCSP

Dan-in-MDDan-in-MD Member Posts: 52 ■■■□□□□□□□
I took and passed the CCSP exam yesterday. One word of caution: in my opinion, the ISC2 official study guide probably covers about 50-60% of the knowledge content required. I found myself relying on my existing knowledge and experience for much of the test. I skimmed through the CSA V4 document (to reinforce my prior studying) the day before the exam.

I studied for this exam the week prior and to gauge my understanding, took about 350 questions from the online Sybex exam, scoring 87%. I think this exam could easily give one false confidence. The Sybex exam was based (not surprisingly) on the book’s content and was much easier than the actual exam. I also checked out CCCure’s CCSP practice exam, but it was awful—spelling mistakes and poorly worded questions. (That said, I DO recommend CCCure for their CISSP 2015 test bank.)

I see that there is a CCSK exam, but I’m not sure about its value proposition. The CCSK seems like an ITIL Foundations type exam.

Comments

• Options
    For the heck of it, I just took the CCSK V4 exam--no study time. Passed with an 83%.

This exam is totally focused on CSA v4 and the ENISA Benefits Risks and Recommendations for Information Security.

Unlike the CCSP, I didn't feel like there was much in the way of practical application of knowledge being tested--it was definitely NOT experiential. It reminded me of my ITIL expert exams in that it used an overabundance of words. Can I have my money back now? icon_wink.gif

CSA doesn’t appear to use Acclaim digital badges, which isn’t very nice of them considering what we’re paying (and they only issue PDF certs, and no cute pin to join your desk collection). For external verification purposes, you need to reveal an email and certificate code. On LinkedIn, I certainly don’t want to post my email address.
  • Options
    DAVIS NGUYENDAVIS NGUYEN Member Posts: 1,472 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • Options