CISSP Boot Camp Suggestions?

gphilipsgphilips Member Posts: 22 ■■■□□□□□□□
Looking into the possibility of doing a CISSP bootcamp.

First, I've read over the forums, and seen predictably the #1 go to as the SANS course. Unfortunately, my work will not pay THAT much for training/certification, and with tuition looming I can't shell out the $$$ to cover it out of pocket.

I'm on the fence, as I've read most of you feel that the camps are basically directed study, and an overwhelming number of you seem to have passed without the camps. I might end up going this route, as I've already purchased 3 of the books recommended on these forums.

BootCamp wise... personally, I've had a lot of positive experience with CBTXpress, but wasn't sure if anyone had positive experiences with other vendors, particularly with the CISSP camps? SecureNinja? TrainingCamp? InfoSec Institute? etc.

Most importantly, are there any that you feel should be avoided like the plague?

Comments

• kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□
    As someone who's done the bootcamp route, it's not for everyone. It really depends on you, how quickly you are able to absorb the information, and how much time you spend studying. I've seen people take bootcamps after they tried on their own to pass the exam, I've seen first timers, and others with years experience try and fail. Most people pass on either their 2nd/3rd times, so keep that in mind.

Only way you should ever take SANS courses either let work pay for it, or via work study, which is $1200. It's a great deal if you have the money. But I'd go with CISSP