Options

How old is too old for IT

Justinag98Justinag98 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I was wondering what the different opinions are out there. I have about 20 years of IT experience all together, but left to pursue other interests for awhile. Im being told in interviews that i dont have recent experience basically in last couple of years. Im taking cert courses for ceh, cissp and ccna as well as applying to WGU. My question is this, im in my 40's trying to get back into IT field and working towards certs, am I too old to be essentially starting over or should I keep moving along? How old is too old for IT?

Comments

• Options
    kaijukaiju Member Posts: 453 ■■■■■■■□□□
    No such things as too old. I have had lots of coworkers in the 60's who are able to contribute without issue. As long as you are able to pass the certs, land a job, and perform the required work you shouldn't worry!!
    Work smarter NOT harder! Semper Gumby!
  • Options
    devilbonesdevilbones Member Posts: 318 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I believe it is actually 99.
  • Options
    Moldygr33nb3anMoldygr33nb3an Member Posts: 241
    Short Answer: Depends on your pay requirements. If you are coming from a high paying trade, it may not be worth dropping down in pay just to reach the same pay 10 years later. But then again, it may be depending on the trade. For example, if you were in the oil fields dirty and sweaty making 120k a year and working 80+ hours, it may make sense to get a desk job making 60k and moving back up to 120k.